top of page
Search

#2 Treatment Begins


Dear Friends,


I walked out of the strip mall today and for the first time in my life, the wind no longer bothered my hair. You know how it is…the wind whips its way across your head and you constantly take your hand to try and brush your hair back in place. Well, I no longer have that problem since all my hair is now gone. This is one of the advantages to having aggressive chemo from Mayo. It is so strong and toxic that you get to do a makeover when the chemo ends and you get a whole new set of hair!! Another advantage is I have no need for Jenny Craig, Nutrisystem, Weight Watchers or any program of that nature. I have lost 20 pounds and have the dubious distinction of being at my college freshman weight!   

I have attached a photo celebrating my new look knowing that I am going to be healed and the Lord is using medicine as the avenue. Personally, I wish God would just heal me and I wouldn’t have to go through this “tough” time, but I trust in the ultimate victory.  

Last week I spent 5 days in the hospital but made it though and this week has been great. We return to Mayo this coming Tuesday for the second of six rounds of chemo. Each session lasts all day and I think when I leave there must be a “glow” about me from all these toxins! This has been the hardest thing I have ever had to do. Thankfully, I have a wonderful wife who has been so helpful, supportive and encouraging.

How to pray this week and beyond? I just want this to work and kill off the awful cancer and the many tumors in my body. Also, we need His grace going through everything because it is just plain hard. Many tears have been shed and I appreciate the small things in life like never before. Pray the things we learned from the first round work in the second round. I think they will! You know the initial odds of this working were 50-50. The clinical trial I am apart of should improve those odds some, but I tend to view the odds with the Lord doing His work as 100%.

I am an optimist and we will “win” with His help and healing hands. Have a wonderful weekend and be thankful for all the simple, good things that occur on a daily basis. You will be happier!

125 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page